Finally it’s pay day!

pay-day

Taken from Pinterest

It has been a very (very) long wait for pay day but finally it has arrived! This week we would like to share with you our affordable treats for February…

K. I saw my first snowdrops of the year today driving home from work. The sight of those delicate little flowers braving the damp and cheerless day really lifted my spirits. But while they might signal the presence of spring, I still very much want to be snuggled up at home under a blanket with a good book! So my pay day bargains this month are all about making the most of winter by getting cosy and indulging in a little pampering.

Feed your skin I have wanted to try Marks & Spencer’s skincare range since I saw one of their night creams recommended by India Knight in the Sunday Times Style magazine a few weeks ago. The Formula range starts at £3.50 for a cleanser and, even better, the products are cruelty free so budget friendly and no guilt! Top of my list to try are the Urban Shield Overnight Recovery Cream and Restore Super Sleep Serum. MarksandSpencer

super-sleep-cream

M&S Formula Super Sleep Serum

Fragrance your home – I can’t get enough of the Anthropologie Capri Blue candle. The website describes the scent from these candles as reminiscent of flower-laden Hawaiian breezes. I’ve never been to Hawaii so I can’t vouch for that, but they do smell delicious and always put a smile on my face. Plus at £12 it won’t break the bank.

anthropolgie

Capri Blue Candle Tin from Anthropologie

 

Finally, Valentine’s Day is round the corner. Call me unromantic (and Mr Lace does) but I’m not a huge fan of the day. It all feels a bit commercial, it excludes those not in a relationship (even if they are very happily single!) and puts pressure on people to go to a lot of expense to ‘prove’ how much they love someone. But…..

……I suspect Lauren will disagree with me on this one because she is much less cynical than I am (!), so to get in the spirit, forget the expensive restaurants – I don’t think you can beat a home cooked meal to show someone how much you care. This goes for anyone, it doesn’t have to be a partner – it’s a lovely thing to do for anyone who needs a boost or reminding how much you care about them, from your Mum to your best friend.

Check out Jamie Oliver’s website for meal inspiration – Try putting tea lights in glass jars (wash up your old jam jars) and tie some pretty ribbon or lace round the top for purse friendly decorations. Dim the lights, light your scented candle and – voila! -Valentine’s day on a budget sorted! (Maybe don’t wear the slippers though….)

L:  Such a lovely idea, luckily Lewis has decided to take me out this year which I am really looking forwards to! Unlike Katy I really do like valentines and not just because I have someone to celebrate with but because as Katy mentioned it is a great way to remind the people you love that you care! And Valentines doesn’t have to brake the bank, you could take Katy’s advice and treat your loved ones to a home cooked meal or if like us you have Meerkat Movies you could afford-ably treat a friend or partner to a movie! I am planning a little girlie treat with my friends to see 50 Shades Darker but there are lots of other new releases to choose from!

Pay day treat: In our house, we are currently saving for new windows so unfortunately I cannot purchase the little luxuries I would like this month, however I have treated myself to 5 samples from Feel Unique for only £3.95! This great service is available for you to purchase a pick’n’mix of your 5 favourite samples each month and you only have to pay the delivery charge! Not only is this a lovely treat to receive through the post but it also allows you to try products you may not normally get to!

pick-n-mix

Feel Unique Pick’n’Mix

 

Night out- If you fancy a night out this month but don’t want to spend a lot on a fancy restaurant visit West Quay’s new esplanade with new bars and eateries. If you visit between the 10th and 19th of February you can enjoy their festival of light for free, a beautiful light show displayed across Southampton’s historic walls from 5pm running throughout each evening. Plus they have special projection on the 14th… I will definitely be dragging Lewis along to this!!

Discount shopping- I am in desperate need of a wardrobe overall for spring but alas this has not been included in the budget this month! However if you are thinking of hitting the shops this month check out Groupon to see which stores are on discount. They have a dedicated tab with all the current discounts available on the high street. This very much came in handy when I had to make birthday present purchase, you can treat them to more than you would have and it costs you nothing to take a quick look at what’s on offer!

Happy February, we hope you are able to treat yourself this month! Let us know if you have any top tips for shopping or going out on a budget, we love to hear your thoughts!

Katy and Lauren xxx

ps. Happy Valentines

Print

 

Leave a Reply

