Less is more…

K: I don’t know about you but I often feel overwhelmed. Overwhelmed by my never ending to-do list. Overwhelmed by emails, messages and status updates all demanding my immediate attention. Overwhelmed by news stories of the terrible things happening in the world and the feeling of helplessness they create.

Sometimes it can feel as though we live in a world where more is never enough. More information. More pressure. More stress. We hear a lot of talk about living simply, but what does this actually mean and how can we apply it to our busy modern lives?

Living simply fits well with the Lemonade Budget philosophy of getting the most out of life for less. Of course there are things we would love to own and can’t afford (Chanel handbag anyone?), but equally it is possible to balance those champagne aspirations with the realities of a lemonade budget and live a more balanced life.

tropical-escape

Sometimes we all want to escape to our own tropical island, but when time (and budget!) doesn’t allow for that, here are our top feel good tips…

Here we share our top tips for those occasions when less is definitely more:

Dress with less – Coco Chanel is rumoured to have said, ‘Before you leave the house, look in the mirror and take one thing off.’ Call it age or lack of money (!) but I have come to the conclusion that it is not the quantity of clothes/shoes/accessories you have in your wardrobe that counts, but the quality and how much you love the pieces you do have.

I am going to be trying the Project333 challenge from the fantastic Be More with Less blog by Courtney Carver.  The idea is simple – to dress for a season with just 33 items (including shoes and accessories…….I know!). I’ll keep you posted with my progress and I’d love to know how you get on if you feel inspired to try this too.

Be a minimalist – Confession time… I used to be a hoarder. I couldn’t bear to throw anything out, from my collection of Vogue magazines to old bills and paperwork. As part of the renovations we are doing to our house I have become much more ruthless and this year we are systematically going through each room and throwing away anything unnecessary, unused or unloved. (Mr Lace does not know this yet and I can already anticipate the heavy sighs and eye rolls).

To help with my new minimalist aesthetic, I started following the Minimalists. I first discovered them on a documentary on Netflix and I love their blog. It’s got lots of great ideas to simplify, declutter and de-stress your life (physically and emotionally). You can even try their 21 day challenge into minimalism!

smell-the-roses

We all need to remember to stop and smell the roses sometimes.

L: I have been so busy with work this week, that being able to read the start of this post from Katy (thanks for the fab theme this week, Katy!) has really helped me to take a step back from what I am doing and realise that I need to do less, slow down my pace and just enjoy my journey!

I broke my one cardinal rule this week and took work home with me several nights in row. This is not something I want to get into the habit of as I am a firm believer of working to live and not living to work. Also, it made me less productive towards the end of the week as I was exhausted, and I had an overwhelming sinking feeling.

Taking away some of the complications that come with everyday life, like choosing what to wear from a wardrobe of clothes that I don’t actually need, could help me to live a more minimalist life. Although I am not sure I can quite commit to 33 items like Katy… I may need a few extra!!

We’re not the only ones talking about slowing down the pace. Anna Hunter has written a great article on Get the Gloss this month about low intensity living. Definitely worth having a look if you’re looking for some great tips on low-intensity gym classes, as well finding out more about mindful nutrition.

And obviously there is the current obsession with Hygge living. Simplistic living from our Danish neighbours – making everyday moments more meaningful and fully appreciating them … This is definitely something I am trying to follow because, actually, I have a pretty great life and sometimes I forget this in the chaos.

Hygge House is a great website inspiring you to enjoy the moment and to live every day as a new day – leaving yesterday as a distant, enjoyed memory. It is a great read for a Sunday afternoon pick-me-up when you have the back-to-school blues or should I say back-to-work!

Do you have any tips for a more simplistic life? We would love to hear your advice!

Happy weekend,

Katy and Lauren xxx

 

Leave a Reply

