Winter Skin Saviours

092815-beauty-quotes-1-new

We love Autumn. The crisp frosty mornings, the smell of wood smoke hanging in the air, and the opportunity to bring all those lovely winter clothes out of storage.

Sadly Autumn does not love our skin. A lethal combination of the changing elements and central heating leaves our skin looking grey, pale and dull. We both have combination skin which means that we have oily t-zone’s and dry skin on  our cheeks which tends to get worse in the colder months.

We’re both on the look out for multi-tasking hero products that will gently soothe and brighten our skin, all on a lemonade budget of course!

So these are our personal skin saviours for the cooler months:

quotes-about-beauty-181

Katy

Cleanse:

Like me, my skin is very sensitive so I don’t like to use anything that will be too harsh. I have used Liz Earle’s cleanser for years and am yet to find another one that does a better job of caring for my skin and taking off all my make up in one easy sweep, including stubborn mascara. I follow this with the Liz Earle toner to remove any last traces of cleanser.

Just a small word of warning, this cleanser leaves my skin lovely and soft. However, several friends who have oily skin have told me that this product doesn’t suit their skin type. So if this is you too, perhaps see if you can trial a free sample first to see how you get on with it.

Moisturise

During the warmer months, I have been using Liz Earle skin repair moisturiser for normal/combination skin which has a nice light texture. However, now winter is setting in and my skin is more dry, I will switch it up to a richer moisturiser. I like the Body Shop Vitamin E moisturiser which is more intensively moisturising and budget friendly.

I’m older than Lauren so I have to work a bit harder to keep those pesky wrinkles at bay! At night, I use Clarins Double Serum followed by their Multi-Active Night Cream. Both do a great job of hydrating and balancing my skin, leaving it soft and smelling lovely. The downside is that they aren’t cheap so I tend to stock up in duty free (or persuade friends and family to purchase for me when they’re travelling!).

Wherever possible, I like to use products that have as many natural ingredients as possible and aren’t tested on animals. I’m interested in a new organic range Lauren recommended called Pai so I plan to swap in some of their products for my night time routine.

Balm

My lips get more chapped than a marathon runner’s nipples in winter and the most effective lip balm I have found is Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm. It tingles nicely when you put it on and is very soothing for sore lips. It’s also a good base for lipstick or gloss.

tumblr_mabbczdqnr1rop0d8o1_500

 

Lauren

Cleanse

Similarly to Katy, I think I have combination skin. I say ‘I think’ because during the Winter months my skin goes through several phases, from dry to oily to dehydrated back to combination in time for the summer! On top of this I also suffer from acne. So my skin routine is really important to me.

I always take the day off with a double cleanse. I start with a facial oil – currently I am using one I got in the reduced section of Waitrose called Argan+ Argan Oil Skin Awakening Cleansing Oil. I wash this off with a flannel. This is really great because oil cleansers last ages so are great if you are on a budget!

Then I use The Body Shop’s Aloe Cleansing Cream. It is gentle enough to not aggravate my skin.

Finally, I take my eye make-up off with Nivea Double Effect Eye Make-up remover it is perfect for taking even the most stubborn eyeliner off and it is only £1.94 in Boots!

In the morning, I simply wash my face with Aldi’s Gentle Face Wash Gel.

Moisturise

In the evening I use a facial oil from Botanics, it smells lovely, is super hydrating and is great if your on a budget like us. It is also great if like me you have minor acne scars. I have found mine have dulled significantly since using this.

I then moisturise with Botanics Hydrating Night Cream. It’s only £2.50 and works really well for me!

And when my skin is need of an extra special treat, I use Soap and Glory’s Beauty Sleep Accelerator   which is also good for when you are travelling – perfect for providing that extra moisture needed during the colder months!

In the morning, I use an Aldi Lacura Hydrating Serum and Simple Daily Moisturiser which is SPF 30 ideal for protecting the skin from the Winter sun!

I have to confess I don’t use a balm and is something I should look into so I will definitely be taking Katy’s advice on this!

Do you have any good advice for keeping your skin hydrated we would love to know your skin care faves!?

Leave a Reply

